University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Undergrads rewarded for excellence in research

Winners of Students’ Union Undergraduate Research Symposium announced

Drama professor Patrick Finn was the keynote speaker for the evening. Photo by Gene Baines

In front of a crowd of 110, more than $20,000 was awarded to undergraduate researchers Wednesday evening. The winners of the 8th annual Students’ Union’s Undergraduate Research Symposium were announced in 14 different categories.

A team of 50 judges made up of faculty and staff from the University of Calgary had the difficult task of determining the best submissions. During the ceremony, Patrick Finn, a professor from the Department of Drama, presented a keynote speech entitled Research in Performance. He touched on the importance of all forms of research and emphasized the aims and the societal responsibilities of those undertaking the pursuit of knowledge.

This year, 96 students shared their research through poster presentations in Mac Hall on Nov. 28. The symposium provided a networking venue for student researchers and a chance to meet a number of professional researchers. More than 200 members of the campus community visited the symposium.

“The symposium reached a new level of competition this year, with nearly three quarters more abstract submissions than we’ve previously seen,” said the SU’s vice-president (academic), Emily Macphail. “This made both the initial abstract and final awards selection a difficult process for those involved, but speaks to the volume and amazing quality of research undertaken by undergraduates across our campus. I continue to be impressed by the scholarship of my peers, and I want to congratulate the award recipients and all the symposium presenters for their achievements.”

2013 Undergraduate Research Symposium Awards: Total $20,450

Elizabeth Hodges — Office of Sustainability, $1,000
Waheeduz Zaman — Sustainable Energy Development Master’s Degree Program, $1,000
Mahrukh Tahir — Haskayne School of Business, $1,000
Erin Shumlich — Faculty of Arts, $1,000
Amanda Chung Yan Chan — Schulich School of Engineering, $1,000
Breanna Shalyn Borys — Schulich School of Engineering, $1,000
Paulina Catherine Podgorny — Faculty of Medicine - Family/Community Health, $1,000
Harleen Kaur Hehar — Faculty of Medicine – Biomolecular, $1,000
Jesse Tin Ching Tong — Faculty of Medicine - Pathology and Disease, $1,000
Yibo (Teresa) Li — Faculty of Medicine - Medical Research, $1,000
Yasamin Mahjoub — Faculty of Science - Biological Science, $1,000
Chase Logan Radford — Faculty of Science - Physical Science, $1,000
Evan Michael Kerek — Faculty of Science – Microbiology, $1,000
Sarah Jane Engbers — Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, $1,000
Sean MacNeil Crooks — Graduate Students' Association Award, $1,000
Brennan David Gorham Jones — Graduate Students' Association Award - Honorable Mention, $500
Maxwell John McKay — John Hickie Award, $800
Caitlin Alexandra Campbell — Office of the Vice-President – Research, $1,000
Alexander Thomas Scurfield — Office of the Vice-President – Research, $1,000
Brandon Lee Boyd — Provost Award for Excellence in Research (International), $1,000
Cory Hendrik Meeuwisse — President Elizabeth Cannon Leadership in Research Award, $1,000
Nicholas Eric Swyngedouw — Journal of Undergraduate Research in Alberta, $150