University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

Grad Recital: Conor Stuart

Conor Stuart

April 29 at 8:15 p.m.

Free of charge and open to the public

J.S. Bach's famous Chaconne for unaccompanied violin has been a source of inspiration to later composers, from Mendelssohn, Schumann and Brahms all the way to the present day. This recital traces its historical legacy by presenting the full Bach d minor partita and two works directly influenced by it (Brahms' d minor violin sonata and Luciano Berio's seminal 1976 work for solo violin, Sequenza VIII), as well as a new work by UCalgary doctoral composition candidate Naithan Bossé that extends the possibilities of the violin through interactive electronics.

Conor Stuart is a Master’s student in violin performance at the University of Calgary, where he studies with Edmond Agopian. He is the concertmaster of the University of Calgary Orchestra and a member of the University of Calgary New Music Ensemble. He has previously played with the UCalgary String Quartet, the National Academy Orchestra of Canada, the UBC Symphony Orchestra, and the UBC Chamber Strings. His past teachers include Mark Ferris, Nancy DiNovo, and Eugenia Choi.

New music is an integral part of his artistic practice, and as such he has given the premières of works both by established Canadian composers (Jeffrey Ryan) and by UCalgary doctoral composition students (Naithan Bossé, Alyssa Aska, Brian Garbet).

He is the recipient of a 2015 SSHRC Joseph-Armand Bombardier Canada Graduate Scholarship (CGS-M program), for his research in gesture-controlled interfaces for violin performance of electroacoustic music using smartphone sensors.

Stuart is also an active composer – his past teachers include Laurie Radford, Stephen Chatman, Jeffrey Ryan, and Dorothy Chang. His music has been performed by the University of Calgary New Music Ensemble, Redshift Music and UBC Contemporary Players. He holds BMus and BASc degrees from UBC.