University of Calgary
UofC Navigation

E-Gré Winner's Tour

Matt Poon, piano

Nov. 25 at 12 p.m.

Free Admission

The Eckhardt-Gramatté National Music Competition (E-Gré) is an annual event focusing on the exceptional performance of contemporary and Canadian music by Canada’s top emerging artists. Created as a tribute to composer and pianist/violinist S. C. Eckhardt-Gramatté, the competition highlights Canadian music. 

This year's winner, Matt Poon, will be performing at Eckhardt-Gramatté Hall on November 25th as part of his cross Canada tour. 

Short Program (noon-hour concert)

Shimmering Blue Glass (2014)                                                    - Matt Poon* (b.1986 )


Dans le crépuscule du souvenir…: cinq pièces pour piano (1977-80)

                                                                                          - Brian Cherney* (b. 1942)

Mirari (2016) *2016 E-Gré Commissioned Work*                    - Jeffrey Ryan* (b. 1962)                                                                               

       (This is a) Work of Fiction

       The Invention of Zero

       Spring Tide

       Gondwana (Bunda Cliffs)       




Caution to the Winds (for piano and fixed electronics) (1987)

                                                                                  - James Mobberley (b. 1954) 

[A set of 3 works without applause in between:]

Prélude et Fugue (2007)                                               - André Ristic* (b.1972)

Nowth Upon Nacht (for voice and piano) (1984)             - John Cage (1912 – 1992)

Piano Mechanics (1981-86)                                          - Gordon Monahan* (b. 1956)
9: Fingers and Arms Becoming Four Hands 


* Indicates Canadian works